#2 – act the way i want to feel

commandment #2 – act the way i want to feel

would you look at that… i’m only on commandment #2 and i’m already having the hardest time coming up with words. please be patient with me on this post. i’m not quite sure where i’m going with it. it might be the hardest commandment i have to write about because i don’t have much experience with it. ((so here goes a bunch of rambling)) —-

this commandment has kind of confused me (a lot) ever since i decided to include it in my list of 12. i got the idea for it from the happiness project book. i think there are a few ways to interpret it.

the way i see it, you need to act the way you want to feel in order to achieve a true feeling of happiness.  this means that if you want to feel happy, you have to ACT happy. simple, right? not unless you really AREN’T happy in your life.

i’ve had my share of days when i’ve woken up in an awful mood for no reason at all (it must have been a lot of negative self talk). on these days, i have to verbally tell myself that i can change my mood if i act happy. you’d be amazed at what the mind can do.  it’s amazing, really.

now, i’m not saying that if you’re sad, you should pretend to be happy. no, what i’m saying is that if you’re upset for no reason, you need to take a deep breathe and turn your negative thoughts into positive ones. it takes practice. but you can get there.

i also think this can work for confidence. if you ACT confident, then chances are, you ARE confident. it reminds me of an interview i had a few months ago… i went into it with 100% confidence. i acted like i had everything under control and that’s how i felt! it went well because of this. however, this works the other way around as well — if you act like you have no confidence, you most likely don’t have any. and it will show. trust me.

i really do think that everyone has the ability to be happy. it may be hard for some people to find, but it’s there. i promise! you just need to remember to put on a smile. a simple smile can do so much. it’s easier to smile than to frown!

okay and ONE more thing — only YOU have the power to make yourself happy. you can’t rely on anyone else. yes, of course your friends can encourage you. but you have to do it for YOURSELF. that’s something i’ve learned recently.

i will leave you with one of my ALL TIME favorite quotes:

‎”The remarkable thing we have is a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day. We cannot change our past… We cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way. We cannot change the inevitable. The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude.”

2 thoughts on “#2 – act the way i want to feel

  1. Sheri Hill says:

    Omg cried again when I read this. It almost like you know how I”m feeling about myself. It’s hard to be happy when you don’t like yourself. I”m trying. I thought about your last blog all day today. Trying to fiqure out how I can be myself and have people like me for me. If they don’t like me now with me being me they will never like me.

    • sheri, i am SO glad to hear that you’ve been trying. that’s all i can ask. it will be a daily struggle but you CAN achieve happiness. you need to surround yourself with people who love you for who you are. no pretending. i’ll continue praying, but i know you’re going to be okay.

Leave a Reply

