#4 – let it be

commandment #4 – let it be

when i find myself in times of trouble
mother mary comes to me
speaking words of wisdom, let it be
and in my hour of darkness
she is standing right in front of me
speaking words of wisdom, let it be

let it be. three of my favorite words. three simple words with such a powerful message. what would your life look like if you could learn to just LET IT BE? i know for me, my life would have a lot less worry in it.

i tend to worry about the future a lot. i’ve always been like this but it’s become a bigger problem over the past couple of months. i’m graduating college in 23 days and have nothing lined up for after. it makes me physically sick to think about.

you don’t know how badly i wish i could start college all over again. not a day goes by when i don’t ask “is it too late to switch my major?!” — ask anyone in my classes. i’ve been holding onto a lot of regrets about my college years and i need to just LET IT BE.

i started college as a business major. i only chose this because it’s what my brother did & i wanted to follow in the family footsteps. on the first day of sophomore year i had an emotional breakdown in one of my business courses. i HATED what i was learning and i didn’t understand anything. sooo i ran out IN THE MIDDLE OF CLASS and decided i needed to switch my major. (side note: right after i ran out of that class, i went on a hike with the people i lived with and  i stepped on a bee hive and got stung by approx 36 bees).

maybe the bee incident was a sign that switching my major was a bad idea?!

anyways, as most of you know, i switched my major to exercise science. what is that, you ask? i have no idea (that’s not a good thing). at that time in my life, i was obsessed with exercise and i was living a healthy lifestyle. i had a personal trainer and worked out twice a day. so where’s the problem? i got burnt out. i lived that way for about a year until my burnout started to happen. i’m still dealing with it today.

(which is why i am graduating with a major that i’m not into like i used to be.)

i can’t go back and start over now. the only thing i can work on is changing my attitude about the situation. this is something that i DO have control over. i’m in charge of my life. i know that WHATEVER i end up doing, my goal will be to help people. that’s all i’ve ever wanted to do. i don’t know HOW i’m going to help, but that’s the exciting part.

on the other hand, there are a lot of things in my life that i DON’T have control over — and with those things, i have to remind myself to “let it be” or, my other favorite saying “que sera sera” – whatever will be will be.

i have to learn to stop worrying about the things i cannot change. God knows EXACTLY where i’m supposed to be. i have to put my trust in Him.

i think we all just need to take whatever the problem or situation is and release it. LET IT GO. LET IT BE. whatever is meant to happen WILL happen. i can promise you that.

one of my best friends, brittany, just sent me this text (perfect timing, if you ask me)  —  “i’m so excited and nervous at the same time. i know i’ll find a job (and you too) so we just have to stay positive. we have to put our all into what we love and opportunities will come out of it for sure.

i hope you all have a beautiful thursday & remember: let it be!

11 thoughts on “#4 – let it be

  1. chelsea says:

    This made me tear up. I have the WORST (bold, underline & italicize that) time letting things be. I over analyze like it’s my job, which of course leads up to me laying in bed in the middle of the night panicking about everything.

    Anyways! Everything happens for a reason right? So just relax & let everything fall into place. 🙂

    PS. Love your blog.

    • i have the hardest time letting things go too! you’re not alone! but you’re exactly right, EVERYTHING happens for a reason so there is no reason to worry!! i wish everyone could realize this.

      you are exactly where you’re supposed to be, chelsea.

      and thank you! i’m glad you love my blog! that makes me happy 🙂

  2. Brittany says:

    Also, I think it’s important to note that nowadays a college degree is needed to get just about any job out there–however–what you major in isn’t always necessarily the important part. As long as you have something in terms of a degree you’ll be able to find the right path & do what you want. 🙂

  3. amen sister!!

    by the way, i am currently reading the paper you just sent me — you are the most amazing writer i know. i’m almost speechless at how well it’s put together. i am so proud to call you my best friend!

    also, i’m hoping that this is YOU brittany, and not some random brittany… because that might get awkward.

    i love you 🙂

  4. Sheri Hill says:

    Its so hard to let things be, when you don’t understanding why its happening. I have a hard time letting things go and wonder why. Why don’t have have any freinds ? Why does my family not want anything to do with me? I don’t understand why God lead me down the path where I”m at. Its so hard to let it be. I lie awake at night or wake up and can’t go back to sleep wondering why??? I wish I knew how to let it be.

    • it is hard. i know it is. it’s just something you’ll have to work on. you are exactly where God wants you. everything in your life has happened for a reason and you just have to remember that. it takes practice, but i know you’ll be able to “let it be” soon.

      • Sheri Hill says:

        You said everything happens for a reason. Whats is the reasons my life is going this way?? I hate it!!!!!! Why does God do this, I hate the path my life is now, He is punishing me i know he is.

  5. Heather says:

    I love this post. I have a hard time letting go. It’s so hard to live by faith because as humans we love to be in control. It’s taking a long time, but despite my very uncertain future, I’m learning the importance of surrendering to God. We can only do so much before we have to let things go. Love you Amanda!

    • thank you, heather!! i LOVE this comment — couldn’t agree more about the importance of surrendering to God! it’s something i’m working on… a daily challenge, but i’m up for it! you, personally, have taught me so much about learning to accept. i know that our futures are bright and we just have to find the path to them 🙂 love you!!

  6. Ashlee says:

    I think part of letting go is claiming God’s promises for us and trusting in His goodness. I love Matthew 6:25-34. We don’t need to worry because God’s got it. I’ve been challenged, this week especially, to lean on God when my future is uncertain and everything seems to be going wrong. I’ve been able to cling to Him and have immeasurable PEACE through the ups and downs.

    • ashlee, thank you so much for sharing this with me! i completely agree… we really DON’T need to worry. as hard as it may be, we have to put our trust in God. and please know that i will be here for you through all the ups and downs as well 🙂 you’re never alone. i love you!

Leave a Reply

