“dressed in designer genes”

my lovely friends, i am currently reading the book “reshaping it all” by candace cameron bure (with darlene schacht) and i’m telling the truth when i say that it might be one of the greatest books i’ve ever read.

yes, i know that says a lot. and i know that i’ve read a lot of books. but this one…? this one is different. yes, different.

it couldn’t have come into my life at a more appropriate time. a time when i am finding God for the first time. & am discovering myself at the same time. while i am lost and confused about the whole thing, this book is helping to guide me in the right direction.

i was originally just going to do a post over the entire book when i finished it, but i couldn’t wait. i just finished chapter 6 – “dressed in designer genes“… and oh my goodness. by far. my absolute. favorite. chapter of ANY book i’ve ever read.

let me start from the beginning. reshaping it all is a book that provides “motivation for physical and spiritual fitness” — and who doesn’t need a little motivation in those categories?!

embracing a healthier lifestyle begins by moving faith to the forefront, making some wise fundamental choices, and finding your worth in the eyes of God.” -reshaping it all

specifically, chapter 6 focuses on body image. (something i’ve struggled with for 22 years). which is probably why it stood out so much to me. i’ve always felt so alone about my negative body image, but this chapter let me know that it’s something that EVERYONE struggles with at somepoint.

part way through, candance encourages her readers to meditate on Psalm 139:13-16 –

for You formed my inward parts;
You covered me in my mother’s womb.
i will praise You, for i am fearfully and wonderfully made;
marvelous are Your works
and that my soul knows very well.

my frame was not hidden from You,
when i was made in secret,
and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.

Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.
and in Your book they all were written,
the days fashioned for me,
when as yet there were none of them.

Psalm 139 is what mary kathryn ‘s sister read to me the night i first “found” Jesus. i’ll always hold it close to my heart because of this. and it made my heart smile when i saw it in this chapter! it was meant to be.

every single one of us was made differently by God. we are exactly the way we are supposed to be. candace makes a good point by saying that He will always love us, and He has provided us with the tools to help improve our quality of life, but in the end, it’s up to YOU to make the choice to change & improve.

change what you can. YOU hold the God-given power to do that, and the great news is that He doesn’t expect you to do it alone.” –reshaping it all

are you going to be brave and start making the necessary changes? or are you going to continue living in a way that doesn’t make you happy?… or proud?

it’s so hard to do. i know. i’ve been there and done that. i’m THERE and DOING THAT right now. start with small changes and work from there. you don’t need to make the change overnight – that’s impossible and you’re only setting yourself up for failure when you do that.

if you’re not satisfied with the way you look, then work towards changing that image. this is something i’m working on. how? by waking up in the morning and instead of looking in the mirror and saying “amanda, you are UGLY. you are WORTHLESS. you are FAT.” i will say “amanda, you are exactly how you’re supposed to be. God made you perfect in His eyes. you don’t need to change for anyone

also? i’m going to put Pslam 139 somewhere on my mirror. so it will be there when i need reminding. i encourage you to do the same. a visible reminder can do a lot! (it’s the little changes, remember?!)

delight in yourself knowing that God made you just the way He wanted you to be. OWN IT.” -reshaping it all

i hope some of you will take my word and go out and buy this amazing book. it will change the way you think about yourself in a positive way. it’s already helped me so much! and i KNOW it will do the same for you!

xox, A.

9 thoughts on ““dressed in designer genes”

  1. Heather says:

    This post has me all teary-eyed. I loved this book too! You ARE fearfully and wonderfully made! I feel SO blessed to have you in my life! You are such an inspiration and encouragement to me.

    I think I need to start talking to myself positively too! It is easy to get frustrated with where I am in my life and speak negatively, but I KNOW this is exactly where I NEED to be. Thank you so much for sharing! Love you!

    • heather, i know EXACTLY what you’re feeling right now! i got all teary-eyed while i was writing this post!! i think you and i are in a similiar point in our lives… not sure what the next move is, but we’re confident that we’re where we need to be.

      the future is scary to think about. extremely scary, actually.

      thank YOU for sharing your heart with me. you’re such a special friend and i’m a better person for knowing you. i love you so so so much, friend!

      keep thinking positive thoughts and everything will be okay in the end. it always is 🙂

      xoxoxoxo

  2. Tay says:

    I love that! We do need to own it! I love all of quotes you posted.

    Have you read So Long Insecurity by Beth Moore? It sounds very similar to this book; I highly recommend it. She talks about self-talk as well. Great stuff!

    • tay! thank you! OWN IT, sister!!

      i haven’t read that! (yet) — i will most definitely add it to my list for next time! i love all books that focus on this topic… it’s so important for all women!

      thank you for your input, once again. your comments always make me smile! you’re such a sweetheart 🙂

  3. Hi! I came across your blog thanks to one of the girls in my small group from church. I asked her to pray so that I can be free from food and that I have a healthy relationship with it and she recommended that I read your blog 🙂 Will definitely head out tonight to buy the book in hopes that it helps me as well.

    Btw, that line “for I am fearfully and wonderfully made” never ceases to amaze me!

    • hi there! becky told me that she gave the link to you – and i am SO glad you decided to stop by!!

      first of all, please know that you are NOT alone in this. i’ve struggled with my weight and have had an unhealthy relationship with food for my entire life… it’s not until this past year when i really said “enough is ENOUGH” and decided to take a step forward to help myself.

      trust me, it’s a daily battle. there are days when i just don’t want anything to do with it… and others when i’m SO excited about this new way of life!

      YOU were fearfully & wonderfully made. no matter what size you are. please know that i’m here for you if you need/want to chat further! i know exactly what you’re going through — my email is atyson241@yahoo.com feel free to use it 🙂

  4. Great! That’s really nice of you 🙂

  5. This sounds like an amazing book. I hope to read it soon! 🙂 What a powerful message!

Leave a Reply

