have faith in yourself and in the future

have you ever had one of those days when you wake up and already feel defeated? like nothing is going to go your way… so why bother getting out of bed? one of those days when you just want to cry?

well friends, that’s how my day started. but to my surprise, those feelings didn’t last! (and thank goodness for that, because those days are AWFUL.)

although i woke up feeling tired and defeated, i made the decision that i would go to the gym. and let me tell you, going to the gym was the last thing i wanted to do! HOWEVER, the gym is something i HAVE to do. it’s not a choice anymore. it’s a part of my lifestyle.

(and i’ll find any excuse have to wear my pink and purple nike sneaks!)

when i got to the gym, i was hit with a flood of emotion.

as i pulled into the parking lot of the gym that had become like a second home to me over the years, i started panicking. yes, i was at the same gym where i had once been employed… the same gym that helped me lose 50 pounds at one point. so why was i freaking out?

my head was filled with questions and doubt. i was asking “HOW did i ever get myself back to this weight?!” and “WHY was it so easy to gain all of this weight?!” i think started questioning myself — “will i ever be able to achieve my goals?!”ย what will i do if i fail again?!

i sat in my car in the parking lot for a good 10 minutes. crying.

i’m not sure what happened next, but a voice inside my head told me that i NEEDED to stop crying and that i needed to get myself INTO THAT GYM. no matter what.

out of nowhere, the tears stopped… and i actually said outloud “okay, it’s time for me to go inside and start moving those mountains.

this moment reminded me of the quote — “faith is taking the first step, even when you don’t see the whole staircase.” right now, i’m kind of feeling like every day is a first step in my weight loss journey. it’s always one step closer to reaching my dreams.

i know it was God who was there with me at that moment. who else could have provided me with such amazing strength?

i actually amazed myself at what i accomplished once i started working out. i did my usual routine, but instead of leaving when i was done, i wanted to do something out of the ordinary that would challenge myself…

now friends, we all know how much i despise the stair master machine. the first time i did it, i was only able to do 5 minutes on that thing! the next week i pushed harder and ended up doing 1o minutes!

but you know what?! TODAY i stayed on that stair master machine for 20 MINUTES. (let me tell you —> it was NOT easy. that machine makes me sweat like no other. sweat everywhere…)

but i was SO proud of myself! it was one of those things that made me stop and think… at that moment, i realized that ANYTHING is possible if you put yourย mind to it.

i could have easily skipped the gym all together today… but i didn’t! and that right there is an accomplishment in itself!

i kind of feel like i can accomplish anything now. all i need to do is BELIEVE that i can do it. it ALL comes down to our ATTITUDE. a positive attitude will end in positive results… whereas a negative attitude will end in negative results (which none of us wants!)

i guess the lesson learned today is that you don’t need to let your negativeย attitude reflect on what you’re capable of. you can SO easily turn a negative thought into something positive!

yes, i woke up in a funk, but i CHOSE to get out of it! and friends, i KNOW you can do the same thing. so, next time you wake up feeling defeated, remember that it doesn’t need to be a reflection on how the rest of your day will turn out.

i have so much faith in every single one of you. the world is yours. yes, YOURS.

12 thoughts on “have faith in yourself and in the future

  1. Uppercasek says:

    Great post, very inspirational! Congratulations!

  2. Jaclyn Rae says:

    Oh gosh, I love that quote & I really needed to read this post today. Thank you for being so lovely & inspirational. โค

  3. Ashley says:

    way to get in there! Sometimes working out is hard and facing your fears is harder but overcoming them is always such a great sense of accomplishment!

    • hi ashley! thank you for reading!! ๐Ÿ™‚ i LOVE what you wrote! you’re exactly right — it is hard to acknowledge that changes need to be made, but the reward is worth every tear! xox

  4. Becky says:

    I LOVE this ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ You are so gifted at putting your feelings into words that others can understand and relate to. I love that about you ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing your feelings of defeat and how you let God shine His strength into you. Amazing ๐Ÿ™‚ And 20 minutes on the stairmaster – you GO girl!! Love you very much!! xoxo

    • becky, your comments always brighten my day ๐Ÿ™‚ thank you!!!! (for everything you wrote!) and also, thank you for not letting me give up. you’re always there to push me harder and i LOVE that. you are so wonderful โค i love yoouuuu!! xoxox

  5. Tay says:

    Amanda, you are such an inspiration. Everything you write here encourages me to do great things. Hopefully one day I’ll get to those great things. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve been reading your twitter and I am so proud of the courage and bravery that you have. You are doing some amazing things and I am so proud to be along this journey with you.

    • tay darling!! thank you for inspiring me on a daily basis! you WILL do great things! you already ARE doing great things — i just know it! you’re a kind soul… and kind souls go far in life ๐Ÿ™‚

      i’m proud just to know you! i hope your summer is going well! xoxoxox

  6. Meg Gazaway says:

    Sweet Amanda!
    What and AWESOME experience you had with getting Heavenly help and that ultimately gave you the umph to go much farther than you could possibly imagine! God is in the details of our lives and He knows how much you want to conquer your outer shell, he will help as you ask! What an awesome way to start your day, change the thoughts to ACTION! I love that. How different would our life be if we did that every single day, a “I think/know I can attitude”if we used that in our talents, workouts, eating we’d be so much better for it!
    What a great way for me to end my night, thanks for listening to the still small voice today, cause your positive experience inspired me!
    LOVE YA and I haven’t even met ya.
    Megs

    • awww meg! you are so precious! THANK YOU for these incredible words of encouragement! i love everything you wrote here ๐Ÿ™‚ it’s all SO true! whenever i have a bad thought coming on, i have to stick with the “i think/know i can” attitude. it’s making a difference.

      you inspire me every single day, meg ๐Ÿ™‚ i hope you know that.

      and i love YOU!! xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

