one year ago

the photo on the left was taken exactly one year ago at my college graduation.

i remember that day perfectly! i came up with every excuse i could think of to NOT go to it. i didn’t’ want to be seen by my entire college community looking the way i did. i remember the fear in my mind about being looked at. i felt so insecure. so fat. so ugly. why would i want to parade that on stage? but in the end, my parents made me go.

i was 260 pounds at the time. i remember thinking that i was so big that i was going to bust out of my gown.

my college graduation was supposed to be one of the happiest days of my life. instead it was a day filled with insecurity.

AND not to mention, i was graduating with a degree in EXERCISE SCIENCE! shouldn’t all of those people be FIT?!

well, my friends, a lot has changed since may 2011.

now take a look at the girl on the right side of that picture. THAT is what happiness looks like. today, for the first time i since i was 12, i was able to look in the mirror and smile at what i saw in the reflection.

i can’t imagine a better feeling than what i just experienced.

there’s nothing more beautiful then self acceptance.

i know i’m still quite far from my goal, but i am SO proud of what i’ve accomplished so far.

5 thoughts on “one year ago

  1. Tay says:

    OMG I love your new blog layout! It’s gorgeous! I miss seeing your blog posts, I hope you’ll post more often now!!

  2. I found you through Jess’ post today. You’re an absolute inspiration and your post had me smiling from cheek-to-cheek. Even though I don’t know you, I felt kind of proud of your journey! I can’t wait to watch you to continue to succeed 🙂

  3. Swole king says:

    Sup darling, just wanna say you’re doing great, you went from a fat piece of shit to a disgusting jelly, but now if you keep going hard you’ll be looking good! Keep going!

    • Athena says:

      Wow you’re a piece of shit. Don’t listen to this fag Amanda! You have always been beautiful and can crush him with your wallet 😉

Leave a Reply

